Center for Advanced Technology (NYSTAR)

Research Faculty

Chemistry and Materials

Prof. Esther Takeuchi

Distinguished professor, Chemistry

  • Development of new battery materials
  • Evaluation of new battery technologies
  • Basic science of chemical energy storage

Eesther.Takeuchi@stonybrook.edu

Dr. Amy Marschilok

Research professor, Chemistry

  • Development of battery materials, focus on cathodes
  • Evaluation of test cells
  • Multi-valence electrolytes

Amy.Marschilok@stonybrook.edu

 

Prof. Benjamin Hsiao

Distinguished professor, Chemistry

  • Aqueous chemistry
  • Water filtration and desalination
  • Polymer science

Benjamin.Hsiao@stonybrook.edu

Sunil_s

Dr. Sunil Sharma

Post-doctoral associate, Chemistry

  • Colloidal science
  • High pressure synthesis
  • Supercapacitor electrodes

Sunil.Sharma@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Miriam Rafailovich

Distinguished professor, Materials Science

  • Synthesis of polymers an nano-composites
  • Polymer adhesion, mechanical strength of polymers
  • X-ray and neutron diffraction

Miriam.Rafailovich@stonybrook.edu

Dr. T Venkatesh

Associate Professor, Materials Science

  • Structure of advanced materials
  • Nanotechnology
  • Energy Technology

T.Venkatesh@stonybrook.edu

Energy Generation and Energy Policy

Prof. Anurag Purwar

Research Professor, Mechanical Engineering

  • Kinematic design of robots
  • Computational Geometry
  • Virtual Reality (VR) in Design Engineering

anurag.purwar@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Jon Longtin

Professor, Mechanical Engineering

  • Thermophysical behavior of liquid and solids
  • Thermodynamic modeling of heat engines
  • Laser-matter interactions

Jon.Longtin@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Devinder Mahajan

Professor, Chemical Engineering

  • Energy Policy
  • Clean fuel production
  • Geothermal energy

Devinder.Mahajan@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Benjamin Lawler

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering

  • Advanced combustion concepts
  • Drive-cycle modeling
  • Vehicle efficiency

Benjamin.Lawler@stonybrook.edu

Dr. Gang He

Assistant Professor, Technology and Society

  • Energy and climate policy
  • Energy and environment
  • Energy modeling

gang.he@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Sotirios Mamalis

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering

  • Power generation
  • Propulsion systems
  • Advanced combustion

Sotirios.Mamalis@stonybrook.edu

Semiconductors and Electronics

Dr. James Misewich

Associate Director, Brookhaven National Laboratory

  • Nanomaterials
  • Ultrafast studies
  • Surface science

misewich@bnl.gov

Prof. Gregory Belenky

Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Optoelectronic devices
  • Semiconductor devices
  • III-V compounds

gregory.belenky@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Leon Shterengas

Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering

  • High power semiconductor lasers
  • Carrier dynamics in nanostructures
  • Molecular beam epitaxy

leon.shterengas@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Sergey Suchalkin

Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering

  • Design and development of opto-electronic devices
  •  Far- and Mid-infrared spectroscopy of solids
  • Physics of semiconductors and nano-structures

sergey.suchalkin@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Vera Gorfinkel

Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering

  • Semiconductor devices
  • Physics of microwaves
  • Optoelectronics

vera.gorfinkel@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Matthew Eisaman

Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering

  • Nanomaterials and applied nanotechnologies
  • Graphene devices and photovoltaics
  • Implementation and scaling

matthew.eisaman@stonybrook.edu

Information Technologies and Big Data

Prof. Eugene A. Feinberg

Distinguished Professor, Applied Mathematics

  • Stochastic models of operations research
  • Industrial applications of statistics
  • Grid modeling

Eugene.Feinberg@stonybrook.edu

Prof. Erez Zadok

Professor, Computer Science

  • Big data
  • Energy efficiency
  • Cyber-security

ezk@cs.stonybrook.edu

Prof. Dimitris Samaras

Associate Professor, Computer Science

  • Computer vision
  • Machine learning
  • Computational behavioral sciences

samaras@cs.sunysb.edu

Prof. Arie Kaufman

Distinguished Professor, Computer Science

  • Computer Graphics
  • Virtual Reality
  • Computer Architecture

ari@cs.stonybrook.edu